Active Directory naming standards

Active Directory naming standards supported include

  • NetBIOS names are the account names required for legacy NT environments.  
  • Fully qualified domain name FQDN
    the path to a network object : is my fqdn.
  • DN Distinguished names
    every object in AD has a DN. DN follows X.500 naming conventions. The DN is made up of the nodes from the root domain down through the container hierarchy to the object. Using my FQDN name and putting it into ND form:
    DC=com, DC=mycompany, DC=support, OU=dallas, CN=Users CN=wmaples The distinguished name abbreviations are

    • DC domain component
    • OU organizational unit
    • CN common name

    The listing order is always DC (however many), OU (however many), CN (however many).


%d bloggers like this: